High Sheriff Award Winners: 2023 – 2024

Shrievalty Badge Colour

High Sheriff Award Winners

2023 – 2024

The High Sheriff of Oxfordshire, Mrs Sally Scott is delighted to announce the High Sheriff Awards recipients for 2023-2024

Cynthia & Martin Bulpitt
For their kindness, commitment and support of the homeless and those in need across Oxfordshire over many years

Nafeesa Hussain
For her tireless support and encouragement for young people in East Oxford as part of the Name it Youth Project

Paul Roberts
For his unceasing and tireless work for Aspire transforming the prospects of some of the most vulnerable people in Oxfordshire

Andy Long
For his voluntary work as a Community First Responder and scheme coordinator and his support of the South Central Ambulance Charity helping them raise many thousands of pounds

Emma Kennedy
For her long-term and tireless work for those who most need help in the large rural community around Chipping Norton including her fundraising for the incredible project – The Branch

Di Chesterman
For her energy in bringing different parts of the community together and her work with Didcot First, Didcot Community Partnership, Didcot Chamber of Commerce, Sustainable Didcot, EdFest and Grub Hub

Eileen Sykes
For her instrumental work in increasing the growth of the Wantage Silver Band from its original one band to its current nine bands and for leading on the introduction of musical education within the local schools’ curriculum

Janet & Steve Cox
For their hours of work each week running the Cherwell Larder and the Climatarian Kitchen community café and for providing support, care and love for the most vulnerable in the community

Police Sergeant 6651 Thomas Coulman
For his inspirational work to improve the Multi-Agency Tasking and Coordination process of identifying and tackling serial perpetrators of domestic abuse and for his volunteering as the South & Vale Local Police Area Police Cadet Leader

Avis Gallager
For her tireless work as an advocate for older people and for serving the Banbury Community for most of her life as a community organiser and social care professional

Jennie Steenkamp
For her amazing support of Katharine House Hospice, raising over £140,000 for the hospice in eight years through her spectacular Tractor Runs

ATC Flight Lieutenant Karl Kisley
For his outstanding contributions and unwavering dedication to the 1460 Air Cadet Wing and the Banbury community

Mahmut Gunaydin
For his work coordinating the “A Life of Chickpea” project across various primary and secondary schools in the Oxford area, aiming to champion equality, diversity, and inclusion in 2022 and 2023

Revd Sarah Sewell
For her compassionate and caring leadership as lead Chaplain at the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Cheryl West
For her 20 years of working with vulnerable young people in Oxfordshire; she heads up the Alternative Provision Unit at the Bicester School and is the lead youth worker at Wolvercote Young People’s Club and is a Trustee of Getting Court amongst many other things

Oscar Rogers
For his courage and initiative as an 11 year old Cumnor resident in taking charge of diverting traffic and keeping road users safe as one of the first at the scene of a road traffic incident on Cumnor Hill

The High Sheriff’s Awards are made annually to recognise people in Oxfordshire who have made an outstanding contribution to the communities in which they live and work – people who have had a high impact on the lives of others over a sustained period of time and are recognised by other people as inspirational and as setting an example for others to follow.  Awards are made on the basis of nominations received from individuals or organisations across the County.

An Awards presentation ceremony was held at County Hall, Oxford on Monday March 11th, 2024

Leave a Reply